Introducing the Idaho Legal History Society (ILHS)


The Idaho Legal History Society was organized in 2005 by Chief Judge B. Lynn Winmill, United States District Court, District of Idaho, and State District Judge Ronald E. Bush. Its foundings members were Bryon Johnson, retired Idaho Supreme Court Justice; The Honorable Ronald J. Wilper, Fourth Judicial District, State of Idaho; Rita Ryan, Judith Austin, Tom McCabe, Boise attorney; Betty Richardson, former United States Attorney; Russ Heller, Boise Public Schools and Susie Boring-Headlee, Administrator for Judge Winmill.

The group discovered that many people have been quietly preserving Idaho's legal history on their own, and many more wanted to be part of the effort. From these efforts, the ILHS was born.

  Hon. B. Lynn Winmill
Founding Co-chair, ILHS
Hon. Ronald E. Bush
Founding Co-chair, ILHS