IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT AND BANKRUPTCY COURTS FOR THE DISTRICT OF IDAHO

IN RE: MERIT SELECTION PANEL TO SELECT NEW MAGISTRATE JUDGE

GENERAL ORDER NO. 404

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 631 *et seq.*, the District Court shall appoint magistrate judges as the Judicial Conference may determine. On June 1, 2021, the Judicial Council of the Ninth Circuit notified the District that they approved the request to fill the magistrate judge vacancy to be created by the retirement of Chief Magistrate Judge Candy W. Dale on March 31, 2022. On June 4, 2021, the Judicial Conference of the United States Committee on Administration of the Magistrate Judges System also approved the request.

The Court is required to employ a Merit Selection Panel to assist it in the selection of a new magistrate judge. Therefore, the following persons are appointed, by unanimous vote of the active district judges of the U.S. District Court of Idaho as the Merit Selection Panel:

Mikel Williams, Chair Retired United States Magistrate Judge

Mike Mooney, lay member President, Idaho Region; Bank of the Cascades

Phil Reberger, lay member Partner, Sullivan & Reberger

Peter Erbland, attorney Lake City Law Group, PLLC

Amy Rubin, attorney Federal Defender Services of Eastern

Washington and Idaho

Justin Whatcott, attorney United States Attorney's Office

General Order No. 404

Gary Cooper, attorney Cooper & Larsen, Chartered

Mark Echo Hawk, attorney Echo Hawk & Olsen, PLLC

Alyson Foster, attorney Dempsey Foster PLLC

Nancy Baskin, Judge Ada County District Court

Kira Dale, Judge Ada County Magistrate Court

The panel members shall review applications and conduct interviews and make other necessary inquiries until they are satisfied with five candidates, they can recommend to the Court for consideration for a full-time United States Magistrate Judge for the position available. The panel shall commence on October 6, 2021, and report to the Court their recommendations no later than January 6, 2022. IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED THIS 6th day of October 2021.

DAVID C. NYE, CHIEF JUDGE

United States District Court

B. LYNN WINMILL, JUDGE United States District Court